Above Your Scorn

Kristy_SelfProtraitJuly2015

If you moved this piece to different points of time or different geographical locations viewers would have incredibly diverse reactions. Picture it in classical Greece, she’s too old and has too direct of a stare. In more conservative communities today masculine glasses, painted lips, short hair, collar bones, and no clothes would be unacceptable. These things that go in and out of being vulgar or markers worthy of judgement come in and out of social norms. What am I uncomfortable with that could be only socially relevant to my time and place? I can only confidently define my character if my environment never changes. I would like to think that in moments of uncertainty that I can remain flexible and recognize worth and dignity in everyone.

Leave a Reply

